Justice For All Malaysia

The Doctor who was and still is news…

Posted on: September 4, 2008

Pusrawi’s Dr Osman appears in public
Beh Lih Yi | Sep 4, 08 12:10pm malaysiakini.com
Dr Mohd Osman Abdul Hamid, the Puswari Hospital doctor who examined Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan, appeared in public today to stand by his claim that he found no evidence of sodomy on the alleged victim.

MCPX

dr mohamed osman abdul hamid pusrawi hospital saiful bukhari azlan anwar ibrahim sodomy 2 pc 040908 01Osman took leave from his hospital more than one month ago after his medical report on Saiful was mysteriously leaked on July 28.

The doctor, who was accompanied by his lawyers – M Puravelan and Yusri Kamarudin – called a press conference at the Bar Council auditorium at 12 noon today.

He confirmed that the statutory declaration, which was published in the Malaysia Today website was indeed signed by him.

“I am not involved in politics. I will always tell the truth,” said the soft-spoken bespectacled doctor who sounded slightly nervous.

saiful bukhari azlan sodomy allegation anwar ibrahim medical report 300708He also expressed anger over the leaking of the medical report (left) which landed him in the spotlight.

In the statutory declaration, Osman stood by the medical report where he did not find any sign of sodomy after examining Saiful’s anus.

Saiful, 23, has claimed that he was sodomised by his 61-year-old ex-boss, Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim, on June 26. Anwar was subsequently charged with the offence six weeks later.

Osman said that he was calling the press conference “to clear his name.

Reading from a prepared statement, Osman said he went on leave as he came under pressure following a police investigation into his medical check-up on Saiful.

He also said that he did not know how his medical report on Saiful became public.

To a question if he was still in employment with Pusrawi, Osman said he would be returning to work “as soon as possible”.

He also dismissed claims that he was worried for his safety.

Below is Osman’s press statement:

“I am the doctor who affirmed the statutory declaration dated Aug 1, 2008.

dr mohamed osman abdul hamid pusrawi hospital saiful bukhari azlan anwar ibrahim sodomy 2 interview 040908 08I have had the chance to read the statutory declaration that has been put up on the website of Malaysia Today. I confirm that it is a true copy of my statutory declaration. I will now confirm that the contents of the statutory declaration is correct.

I had gone on leave. There was a lot of pressure on me. I am now back in Malaysia. There has been a lot of media statements in Malaysia made by various individuals.

Some of these statements have put me in a bad light both professionally and as a person. Please be assured that I had merely done my job as a doctor. I am not involved in politics. I will always tell the truth.

I have never at any time breached my professional ethics. I have always practised doctor-patient confidentiality.”

Below is the transcript from the question-and-answer session during the 15-minute press conference:

Where were you during this period (that you went ‘missing’)?

I was away, I was on holiday.

Did you go back to Burma?

(All) I can say (is) I was away.

You said you respect doctor-patient confidentiality. Why then did you make the statutory declaration and release the medical report?

There were a lot of statements in the Malaysian papers, I just want to clarify these things, I wanted to clear my name, that’s why I produced the statutory declaration.

dr mohamed osman abdul hamid pusrawi hospital saiful bukhari azlan anwar ibrahim sodomy 2 interview 040908 03Why did you reveal the medical report in the first place?

No, I was not responsible (for the leaking of the) medical report.

Are you still with Pusrawi Hospital?

Yes, I think so, I am still on leave.

Did you receive any threats which forced you to leave the country?

There is no threat but (due to) my experience after seeing the patient (Saiful), I myself felt very depressed and shaken – that was why I wanted to take leave. My hospital (then) advised me to take leave for a while (and now) I am back here.

When are you going back to the hospital?

As soon as possible.

Do you know how Malaysia Today got hold of your statutory declaration?

I don’t know.

Do you know how the medical report was leaked?

No, I don’t. I have no idea.

Do you have anything extra to add apart from your press statement?

I am sad because my patient’s (medical record) was leaked from somewhere.

Are you angry?

Yes, I am very angry but this is out of my hand, I am not holding the patient’s folder all the time. If I am working as a doctor in my own clinic, this (record) will be under my hand.

You went on leave on your own accord?

They advised me to take leave because of my ‘experience’ (feeling afraid).

Do you still stand by the contents of the statutory declaration?

Yes, I confirm.

You maintain that the content is correct?

Yes.

Were you and your family in danger at anytime?

Not in danger.

Were you harassed by the police?

No, they never detained me.

Will you participate in any police investigation?

dr mohamed osman abdul hamid pusrawi hospital saiful bukhari azlan anwar ibrahim sodomy 2 pc 040908 02Puravalen: Our instruction is that he will cooperate with the police in the investigation. Yusri has also been interviewed by the police in respect of his professional relationship with Dr Osman.

When did you come back to Malaysia?

Recently – a few days ago.

Which police took your statement?

From Bukit Aman (federal police headquarters).

You said you were depressed and shaken, why?

I wasn’t shaken. I was depressed after the police investigation, three times (of questioning), because I am not familiar and used to (dealing with) the police. I am a doctor, I have no experience in that kind of things. I didn’t even know that the patient (was Saiful), I didn’t know the name.

Do you have any idea whether you would be subpoenaed as a witness in Anwar’s trial?

Puravalen: Going on general circumstances, he would be a critical component for the chain of evidence, so it would be nothing unexpected if he gives evidence in court.

Are you still staying at the same place or have you moved somewhere else?

I am staying in Kuala Lumpur.

Leave a Reply

Must Attend Program

Please go to this link: https://justice4allkuantan.wordpress.com/2008/10/25/invitation-public-forum-the-isa-and-the-police-reform-process-whats-next-after-pak-lah/
To sin by silence when we should protest makes cowards of people - Emily Cox

Siphoning EPF money

On 'Why should Valuecap borrow from EPF?' Syed Shahir Syed Mohamud: MTUC condemns the government's move to bail out Valuecap to support the local stock market using RM5 billion from EPF, as the provident fund is the custodian of the workers' money and not some sort of ‘automated teller machine' for the government.
If at all the EPF were to lend its money to the government, it has to be under the condition that there be transparency and accountability in the activities for which the money has been purposed. We want to know who is doing what with the money that belongs to the workers. This is the hard-earned money of the workers, their retirement plan. How is this bailout plan going to benefit the workers? We also question the reason for this bailout. If the economic fundamentals in Malaysia are strong and reserves sufficient as has been stated several times by the government, then why is there a need to offer so much money to the GLCs? Second Finance Minister Nor Mohamed Yakcop should prove how the EPF would profit from this loan. Bernama had reported that Nor had given the assurance that the loan given out by EPF would reap profits for the fund judging from Valuecap's past performance. But where is the paperwork and calculations to show that this move will benefit the EPF? MTUC is concerned that the loan might be mismanaged or misused and this, in turn, would affect the returns for the contributors. Mere assurances are not enough. We want to proof that this RM5 billion will not go down the drain. (The writer is president, MTUC). Sharyn: The government wants to use our pension money to prop up the Malaysian stock market which is the playing field of the rich people. If so, the government must ensure that the EPF account holders - who are predominantly the poor to average citizens of Malaysia - be guaranteed all of our pension money with a compound 8% growth (interest). It's so selfish and sick of the government to use the poor's pension money to help the rich to make more money with all the risks taken by the poor/average citizen. We can better use the RM% billion loans to Valuecap for our children's education, shelter, medical bills etc. Why not get those rich people to prop up the share market instead? Why should they park their money overseas and gamble with our EPF money instead? Kumar14: Who is behind this Valuecap organisation? Why suddenly, this separate entity is allowed to access funds from the EPF? Are they capable enough to handle it or is it just another desperate and blind move? It has been a very infamous trend where the people's funds are channeled to a company for investment purposes and suddenly POP! the funds disappear and there is nobody to be held responsible but a RM2 shell company. Charge who? Sue whom? The RM2 company (just a registered name)? We have seen this many times. People in power and with connections allow such things to go through and reap/rob the people's wealth and then blame it on organisations which actually don't exist. What if a lot of EPF funds are looted via such scams and nobody is to be pointed at? Where will the government get the funds to replenish the EPF? The people are very bored, disappointed, angry and frustrated at seeing all these dumb and unaccounted for measures being allowed by the government with lame excuses. Please, somebody verify the true purpose, integrity and capability of anybody attempting to use the people's fund.

Raja Petra

Photobucket Ihsan dari blog Go!Malaysian http://gomalaysian.blogspot.com/

ANWAR IBRAHIM

A prosperous future is indivisible from a firm commitment to the principles of distributive justice, the rule of law and a profound respect for human rights.

Email Address:

justice4allmsia@yahoo.com

Archives

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 117,126 hits
